Go Back   Boxer Board > NUTRITION FORUMS > Feeding

Feeding For general feeding and nutrition related messages and questions.

Closed Thread

Old 18th November 2004, 09:57 PM
Super Boxer

Food for dogs with bladder stones?

I just wanted to get some input from other people who have had more experience before we discuss it with our vet...
One of our dogs (not a boxer) has bladder stones and is having surgery to remove them tomorrow. Our vet says that we will need to change her diet to help prevent them from recurring. He said we would discuss that after her surgery when I go to pick her up. I have been feeding all 4 of my dogs Wellness for about 6 months. Before that, it was a low quality dog food(Purina). I am not sure what my vet is going to recommend, but I am sure it is something that the office sells, probably Science Diet.
Any suggestions on alternatives of good dog foods for a dog with this problem? Is Wellness not a good choice in this case? I have been trying to do some research on it and all I am finding is what "people" food that is off limits, like yogurt and cheese.
I would like to stay on a high quality dog food. I would love to stay with Wellness so all the dogs eat the same food, but I understand if that has to change because of her condition. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Last edited by Sidda1018; 18th November 2004 at 10:01 PM. Reason: spelling
Sponsored Links

Old 18th November 2004, 10:31 PM
Boxer Insane

He will test the stones when they are removed & will tell you what caused them & science diet does make one & you are right, he will have one to sell,wait & see what he suggest, then research all brands,cause there are many on the market.Hope your dog gets better soon,sending healing vibes your way! Hanley

Old 19th November 2004, 06:00 AM
Super Boxer

Thanks for the reply, Hanley, and for the encouragement.