Go Back   Boxer Board > SHOW BOXER FORUMS > Boxer Standard

Closed Thread

Old 22nd January 2002, 02:00 PM
Boxer Pal

Question American VS German

Hi. I am new to this site. I have an 8 1/2 month old, 60 lb. male boxer named Brick. He is an absolute joy (when he isn't eating my shoes!!). My question is, someone asked my husband the other day if we had a German boxer or an American. We had never heard of this. They said we had a German one when he answered some of their questions. Does anyone know if this is true and what the difference is? Thank you.
Sponsored Links

Old 22nd January 2002, 02:21 PM
Completely Boxer Crazy

Hi! I can't really tell you the difference since I'm no expert but I did meet someone who said their boxers were German. All I can say is Loke was taller and skinny compared to his 2 which were short and very built and broad. I don't know anything else other than that so I look forward to more knowledgable responses to your question. Welcome to the board!

Old 22nd January 2002, 11:19 PM
Boxer Insane

Cubby's response is about exactly right It can be argued that "German" Boxers are more stout and bulky, but really there are different styles of dogs in both countries and to assume that one style is from a certain country is unwise at best.

If your dog is from North American lines, you could call him a "North American Boxer." If your dog is from German lines, you could call him a "German Boxer" (although I personally would prefer if you called him a Boxer from NA or German lines - unless he was born in Germany, in which case he'd be a citizen )

Old 30th January 2002, 04:15 AM
Boxer Pal

Hi, when I got Rocky, the breeder said that he breed his german bitch with an american dog. I asked him what the difference was and he said that the main difference was that the american boxer has a longer nose and the german's nose is more pushed up.
Hope that helps.

Old 28th February 2002, 04:43 PM
Boxer Buddy