Go Back   Boxer Board > BOXER HEALTH FORUMS > Boxer Anatomy and Physiology

Closed Thread

Old 5th June 2001, 07:52 PM
Boxer Buddy

boxer teeth?

anyone know when/if dogs develop an adult set of teeth like people, or if they just continue to grow out? winston plays with our other dog (german shepherd+doberman=very big teeth) and he can hardly compete now. he's got a lot of growing to do, so hopefully he'll be somewhat of a match for her later.
it's funny to watch, she takes advantage of his being little, and he knows it. every now and then, he'll get really pissed and chase her around the house.
again, just wondering when their adult set of teeth grow in.
thanks,
jim

Old 6th June 2001, 06:32 AM
Boxer Booster

I'm no expert, but Davis started losing his "baby" teeth right after we got him (at a little over 4 months) and is still losing them now. It's funny, because I don't really remember finding JEB's teeth around the house (I guess he swallowed all of them), but I keep finding Davis' teeth - usually by stepping on them, and boy are they sharp!!! I'm pretty sure that the process goes on for a while (3 months or so??) and their "adult" teeth don't all come in at the same rate. So you may have a gummy boxer for a while! We're found that moistening Davis' kibble with a little water or broth seems to make it easier on his gums, as do icecubes and water-soaked & then frozen booda bones (those twisted ropey-looking toys). It sounds like Winston is at about the right age to start losing teeth, so keep an eye on him for any progress!

JEB (10/1/95-11/27/00) Waiting for us at the Bridge

Old 6th June 2001, 01:37 PM
Super Boxer

My little Riley will be four months tomorrow and we are just noticing her starting to lose some teeth. She doesn't seem to mind though as long as she can still gnaw on us with her remaining teeth she is okay.

Old 3rd July 2001, 11:25 AM
Boxer Booster

Just thought I'd give some info about dog's teeth...from a vet student's point of view.